Nature

IMG_1225

A strong urge to go for long walks in nature is new for me.  I just can’t get enough of the peaceful quiet, the fresh air laced with the scents of grass, honeysuckle, and wildflowers. Sometimes I listen to a podcast (On Being is my favorite) and sometimes I crave the quiet.  Today I craved the quiet.  I walked 3.5 miles on paths like this and on paths through the deep forest.  I like to walk and pray. Today it was prayers of gratitude for the beauty of earth & for love, prayers asking for wisdom and guidance, and prayers for the wellbeing of my family and friends.

This photo was taken on my walk at a breathtakingly beautiful arboretum just 1 mile from our home.  Amazingly, we’ve lived here 12 years and I just discovered this magical place 3 months ago!  I feel like the arboretum is my new best friend.

